top of page
  • Writer's pictureYaitza Rivera

Mobile Optimization: An ePortfolio Update

More and more people are consuming their digital content on their mobile phones that any other medium. Having a site that is mobile friendly and easy to read is crucial today. This has become an important component to address with the ePortfolio that I have been curating as a Communication student. Each semester, we review and assess the condition of our ePortfolios to ensure that we are keeping things current, credible, and consistent. As I approach graduation, my focus has been on transitioning my ePortfolio from student-based to professional based.


Initial curating took place on the desktop version with a complete overhaul of the design of the ePortfolio, specifically the design and the color scheme. This was already something I wanted to work on, also being the main feedback received from Cami, the ePortfolio Tutor who reviewed my eP for this assignment. A new color scheme was incorporated to tie it into my resilience coaching business, this ensuring that branding remained consistent across platforms. This took several days as I reviewed all page backgrounds and text to ensure legibility. Focusing on flow and continuity was also a part of this edit. A new customized Welcome Slide was added to the Homepage featuring all the pertinent contact information for my business, as well as a newly updated image of myself. Additionally, a new menu area was added for the LeADERS Candidate requirements that are forthcoming. To obtain final certification as a LeADERS Candidate for graduation this semester, a final draft of my ePortfolio will need to be reviewed by the program committee.


The mobile version of my ePortfolio required a few adjustments. On the Homepage, I added the newly updated image from the desktop version’s Welcome Slide to the mobile version. This area initially displayed the same Welcome Slide as the desktop version; however, the way the content displayed on the mobile version required a different approach. I will be looking into creating an image from the missing text within the Welcome Slide to add to the mobile version later. I reviewed all page layouts and text in the mobile version as well, fixing issues as needed. I also revised the Header and Footer on the mobile version to the text would display better. Lastly, I adjusted the sizes of certain sections to avoid any blank space. The only other change I felt was needed at this time was to revise the layout of the Course Projects page on the mobile version so it would display appropriately.


I look forward to continuing to improve upon my ePortfolio in the next few months. Aside from required postings of coursework throughout the semester and the LeADERS requirements, there will be other additions as well. I will undoubtedly have content from my internship with Driving Forward to add; as well as additional content focused on resilience. Should I obtain my Resilience Coaching certification before my internship is finished, I anticipate adding a section dedicated to that as well. It is my hope that those who review my ePortfolio find it both appealing and informative!

Comments


bottom of page